Whale watching : tourist activity in itself

Every year, humpback whales and whale sharks are approaching Madagascar. They abound between June and September. In this season, the water temperature attracts. While females calve, males engage in courtship performances to the delight of tourists.

The charming parade of humpback whales on the east coast of Madagascar !

You are invited to attend the natural event offered by these marine mammals who leave the cold waters of Antarctica to come off the east coast of Madagascar. To succeed, They cross 1 500 km around. Arrived on the scene, they are not content to remain under water. They frolic joyfully. Males demonstrate the power of their fins hitting water. To do this, they are jumping.
If you're lucky, you can attend directly to the birth of a calf and his first accompanied his mother. What is certain, your safari will truly be a memorable moment, because you will attend the wonderful beauty of nature.
Baleine a boss sainte marie

A Diving northwest of Madagascar

Another way to have a unique experience is to go off Nosy Be to dive in the company of whale sharks. The names of these giants of the sea is impressive, as their size, but they are harmless. Just follow the safety rules. These rules, the wearing of a mask, Palmes et tuba, of course. What is certain, is that there will be the adrenaline in the air, and you will not regret being at the scene. If you can not swim very well, you will be accompanied. If not, you can very well watch them from your boat.
observer les baleines

For more details…

Couple or Family, or between friends, you can watch whales and hear their song on the shore of the island of Sainte-Marie, but the best way to witness the natural event is taking a stroll in the sea. You can live your safari aboard a catamaran or a sailboat. The bravest dare canoe or surfing, based on location. A leisurely cruise is often organized in this season, just to watch whales. You can see them dancing in the bay Antongil.
Whale watching is a well-managed tourism. The CETAMADA association has established rules to be applied during the safari. The goal is to respect the animals and ensure the safety of tourists. If you're in Sainte-Marie in July, you can participate in many other activities in the framework of the Whale Festival.

Find Hotels in Nosy Be & Sainte Marie Madagascar

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

Maki Lodge

Nosy Komba, Madagascar 207

from €50 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

Laurel Wellness Hotel

PK 15 Bemoko Dzamandzar, Nosy Be - 207

from €224 /night

Zara Village
Book Now

Zara Village

Abido, Ampasipohy,

from €50 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

BORAHA Village

Ile Sainte-Marie, Madagascar

from €40 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

Island Ecolodge Happy

Antafiabe Island of Joy, Madagascar

from €32 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

Nature Lodge

Marotone shoulder Islands 207

from €80 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

Ankazoberavina Ecolodge

Nosy Ankazoberavina

from €120 /night

Newsletters

Be the first to receive our news and Deals

Booking Hotels Madagascar

FREE
VIEW

• FrançaisEnglishItalianoDeutsch

L'observation des baleines : une activité touristique à part entière

Tous les ans, les baleines à bosse et les requins-baleines s’approchent de Madagascar. Elles abondent entre juin et septembre. À cette saison, la température de l’eau les attire. Tandis que les femelles mettent bas, les mâles se livrent à des spectacles de séduction au grand bonheur des touristes.

Les parades de charme des baleines à bosse sur la côte Est de Madagascar !

Vous êtes invités à assister à l’événement naturel qu’offrent ces mammifères marins qui quittent les eaux froides de l’Antarctique pour venir au large de la côte Est malgache. Pour y arriver, ils traversent 1 500 km environ. Arrivés sur les lieux, ils ne se contentent pas de rester sous l’eau. Ils s’ébattent avec joie. Les mâles démontrent la puissance de leurs nageoires en frappant l’eau. Pour ce faire, ils sautent.
Si vous avez de la chance, vous pourrez assister directement à la naissance d’un baleineau ainsi que ses premiers pas accompagnés de sa mère. Ce qui est sûr, votre safari sera vraiment un moment mémorable, car vous aurez assisté à la beauté merveilleuse de la nature.
Baleine a boss sainte marie

Une plongée sous-marine au nord-ouest de Madagascar

Une autre façon de vivre une expérience unique est d’aller au large de Nosy Be pour plonger en compagnie des requins-baleines. Le nom de ces géants de la mer est impressionnant, tout comme leur taille, mais ils sont inoffensifs. Il suffit de respecter les règles de sécurité. Parmi ces règles, le fait de porter un masque, des palmes et un tuba, bien entendu. Ce qui est sûr, c’est qu’il y aura de l’adrénaline dans l’air, et vous ne regretterez pas d’être présent sur les lieux. Si vous ne savez pas très bien nager, vous pourrez être accompagné. Sinon, vous pouvez très bien les observer depuis votre embarcation.
observer les baleines

Pour plus de détails…

En couple ou en famille, ou bien entre amis, vous pouvez observer les cétacés et entendre leur chant sur le rivage de l’île de Sainte-Marie, mais le meilleur moyen d’assister à l’événement naturel est de partir en balade en plein mer. Vous pouvez alors vivre votre safari à bord d’un catamaran ou d’un bateau à voiles. Les plus téméraires osent la pirogue ou le surf, selon l’endroit. Une balade en croisière est souvent organisée à cette saison, rien que pour observer les baleines. Vous pouvez également les voir danser dans la baie d’Antongil.
L’observation des baleines est une activité touristique bien encadrée. L’association CétaMada a établi un règlement à appliquer au cours du safari. Le but est de respecter ces animaux et d’assurer la sécurité des touristes. Si vous êtes à Sainte-Marie en juillet, vous pouvez participer à bien d’autres activités dans le cadre de la Fête de la Baleine.