When the baobab grows in Madagascar ...

... The tree flourishes. Comfortable home, he is proud to represent Madagascar's flora. Six species of eight are endemic to Madagascar. In the West, more than a dozen of baobab trees are a very original forest crossed by an alley : the famous Baobab Alley. This attraction of talk, both in the books in movies. Located about twenty kilometers from Morondava, the place is the pride of the economic and administrative capital of Menabe.

An impressive tree

Up and huge, this ecological gem can reach a height of 30 m and a diameter of 9 m. Some specimens are astonishing pace. Enjoy this duo baobabs which are one. Consisting of two intertwined trunks, it is called "the love baobab". To see it up close, simply make a trip to Mangily, further south of Morondava. You will discover near this village in the province of Tulear. This legendary tree would bring luck to lovers who come to unite with his foot. That's not all, the couple united at the foot of the colossus could separate anywhere else !
Baobab de Madagascar (2)

A revered tree

decidedly, the Reniala is sacred, venerated. "Reniala" is the name that people give this old tree, which means the mother of the forest. This nature sanctuary is a real water reserve. This is why it tolerates drought in southern Madagascar. His nickname bottle tree is probably not the result of chance !
In addition to the Southwest of the Big Island, Northwestern also sees growing baobabs. The great Andasonia digitata planted in the heart of the city of Mahajanga has all his honors. He planted long ago by the Arabs from the Persian Gulf and Antalaotse, from the country, this tree 10 meters high and 21,70 meters in circumference is sacred Natural Heritage. Once inaugurated by Boeny Tourist Office and the urban commune of Mahajanga, the "Bouyé be", as called them Antalaotse, is now the symbol of the city.
Baobab de Madagascar (3)

The different species of baobab, to know :

• The typed andasonia
• L’andasonia madagascarensis
• L'andasonia suarezensis
• The andasonia gradidieri
• L’andasonia rubrostipa
• The andasonia perrieri
• L’andasonia gibossa
• L’andasonia za
... are represented all over the island especially in its protected areas like Kirindy Mitea National Park south of Morondava, the Ankarafantsika park 114 km southeast of Mahajanga, and the nature reserve of little known Vohibisa.
The baobab is surrounded by legends. Malagasy and African stories are just as captivating, as each other.

Find Hotels in Northwest & Southwestern Madagascar

Salama Hotel
Book Now

Salama Hôtel

Lot 10 Plle 30 Small Mahabibo

from €20 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

The Relay Kirindy

In front of the sacred Baobab Kirindy Reserve

from €45 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

Kimony Resort

BP 393 Road Kimony Beach Morondava

from €0 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

The Mantalys Morondava

Route Tsimavahokely airport

from €22 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

Antsanitia Resort

Fokontany Anstsanitia

from €82 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

New Park Resort

PK 06 Ankaraobato Amborovy

from €24 /night

Booking Hotels in Madagascar
Book Now

Hotel Majunga

R. Georges, Mahajanga

from €27 /night

Eden Rock
Book Now

Eden Rock Hôtel

BP 30 Morondava centre Madagascar

from €12 /night

Newsletters

Be the first to receive our news and Deals

Booking Hotels Madagascar

FREE
VIEW

Quand le baobab pousse à Madagascar…

… L’arbre s’épanouit. À l’aise chez lui, il est fier de représenter la flore malgache. Six espèces sur huit sont endémiques de Madagascar. Dans l’Ouest du pays, plus d’une douzaine de baobabs forment une forêt très originale traversée par une allée : la célèbre Allée des Baobabs. Ce site touristique fait parler de lui, aussi bien dans les livres que dans les films. Situé à environ une vingtaine de kilomètres de Morondava, l’endroit fait la fierté de la capitale économique et administrative du Menabe.

Un arbre impressionnant

Haut et énorme, ce joyau écologique peut atteindre une hauteur de 30 m et un diamètre de 9 m. Certains spécimens prennent une allure étonnante. Admirez ce duo de baobabs qui ne font qu’un. Constitué de deux troncs entrelacés, il est baptisé « le baobab amoureux ». Pour le voir de près, il suffit de faire un tour à Mangily, plus loin au Sud de Morondava. Vous le découvrirez à proximité de ce village de la province de Tuléar. Cet arbre légendaire porterait chance aux amoureux qui viennent s’unir à son pied. Ce n’est pas tout, le couple uni au pied de ce colosse ne pourrait se séparer ailleurs qu’ici !
Baobab de Madagascar (2)

Un arbre vénéré

Décidément, le reniala est sacré, vénéré. « Reniala » est l’appellation que les habitants donnent à cet arbre séculaire, ce qui signifie la mère de la forêt. Ce sanctuaire de la nature est une véritable réserve d’eau. C’est la raison pour laquelle il supporte la sécheresse du Sud de Madagascar. Son surnom d’arbre bouteille n’est sans doute pas le fruit d’un hasard !
Outre le Sud-Ouest de la Grande île, le Nord-Ouest voit aussi pousser des baobabs. Le grand andasonia digitata planté en plein cœur de la ville de Majunga a tous ses honneurs. Planté il y a très longtemps par les Arabes provenant du golfe persique et les Antalaotse, originaires du pays, cet arbre de 10 mètres de haut et de 21,70 mètres de circonférence est sacré Patrimoine naturel. Une fois inauguré par l’Office du Tourisme de Boeny et par la commune urbaine de Mahajanga, le « Bouyé be », comme l’appelèrent les Antalaotse, est désormais le symbole de la ville.
Baobab de Madagascar (3)

Les différentes espèces de baobabs, à savoir :

• L’andasonia digitata
• L’andasonia madagascarensis
• L’andasonia suarezensis
• L’andasonia gradidieri
• L’andasonia rubrostipa
• L’andasonia perrieri
• L’andasonia gibossa
• L’andasonia za
… sont représentées un peu partout dans l’île notamment dans ses espaces protégés comme le parc national de Kirindy Mitea au sud de Morondava, le parc d’Ankarafantsika à 114 km au sud-est de Majunga, et la réserve naturelle peu connue de Vohibisa.
Le baobab est entouré de légendes. Les anecdotes malgaches et africaines sont toutes aussi captivantes, les unes que les autres.