Diego Suarez

History

Diego-Suarez, known locally as Antsiranana is a city located in the region which is on the northern tip of Madagascar. It is distinguished by its port is the third largest of the Big Island. Starting from Antananarivo, the local capital, must be some 1173 km to get there. Off its coast are the Comoros that guarantee the cultural wealth of its inhabitants.

Informations

  • Pays: Madagascar
  • City: Diego-Suarez
  • Local hour: +1H
  • Change: the
  • Language: Français & Malagasy

Office of Diego Suarez tourism: Address: Angle Rue Flacourt Rue Colbert 201 Antsiranana

  • Tel : 032 43 231 61
  • Email: tourismediego@gmail.com
  • Site : www.office-tourisme-diego-suarez.com

To discover

Meet a cosmopolitan population

When speaking of the city of Diego Suarez, we can not forget the source of its name. The latter comes from the names of the two men who discovered, here four centuries, Diego Suarez Diaz et l'Amiral. The bay which earned him his fame was the Indian Ocean mooring place pirate boats. Today, this bay is considered one of the most popular in the world, offering splendid beaches. But the city is also distinguished by the plurality of cultures that makes up the population. Effectively, Diego Suarez is the most cosmopolitan city of the Big Island in only counting people from its surrounding islands including the Comoros Islands.

Tourist places to discover

In circuits discovery of various travel agencies that operate in the city of Diego are several attractions not to miss. Of those, there is the Windsor Castle which, down from its 391 m, offers a breathtaking view of the entire Diego Bay. A few kilometers away is the massive Tsaratanana. This is one of the highlights of the Big Island with some 2874 m d’altitude. A little lower, but no less interesting, the "French Mountain" has a top that is 426 m above sea level. It offers a very interesting climbing circuit for the more adventurous visitors to the city. Other unusual venues including Amber Mountain and its National Park are to be discovered during a stay in Dego-Suarez.

unpublished natural scenery and wealth

Diégo, it is also the white beaches for relaxation with family or friends. On the beach of Ramena, for example, coral reef allows to practice several water sports except swimming and scuba diving. Off the Indian Ocean are available under the three bays of the Dunes, Pigeons and Sakalava. Each bay and between-they are a wealth of greenery and important wildlife, easily translating the natural wealth of the entire Big Island. Pachypodiums, drought tolerant plants, but also quail and pigeons endemic species may be encountered throughout the visit of these natural territories of Diego.

To visit

The three bays

Antsiranana, Madagascar
The 3 Berries are accessible after 1 km walk from Ramena. The first of them, Bay Dunes, is deserted and magical. A little further, Bay of Sakalava is even more impressive. And finally, we discovered the bay pigeons. These beautiful stretches of sand lined by a varied vegetation were still banned there is little (Formerly a military zone). They remain little known and little used.

An incredible color emerald sea oil also offers visitors safe for swimming. The place is ideal for fishing lobster. Just hope that this natural setting of stunning beauty is not a day operated by big names from mass tourism. The government, nowadays, refused any construction project along these bays.

Massif of Ankarana

The massif of Ankarana wins. The course is difficult but the efforts were quickly rewarded. A few days spent on site allow hikers to enjoy a virgin nature and enjoying the unique and endemic to Madagascar. The training in spikes, called Tsingy (stone forest), make several dozen meters high. This limestone massif, he long ago under the sea, has eroded with time and was carved by rain. The sharp peaks require the utmost caution when changing the site.

Fauna is not remains. The lemurs and chameleons have colonized the site. Giant bats make their home in the many sacred caves in the region. In a word, Ankarana is a great adventure ! Note that there are great Tsingy in southern Madagascar (Tsingy of Bemaraha which is part of world heritage).

Shoulders

Antsiranana, Madagascar
Brought back is a nice little fishing village, close to Antsiranana (Diégo-Suarez) accessible by a road along the bay where sits proudly Sugar Loaf. It is an opportunity to make a stop to admire this extraordinary panorama. Brought has a nice beach. The village is charming, pleasant.

Several choices are offering travelers : enjoy the serenity of the village letting the time pass, to sea and discover breathtaking scenery along the coast or to the 3 berries. Leave this area is difficult, it can be with all the ingredients for happy days.

The emerald sea

Antsiranana Madagascar

The emerald sea is not far from Diego Suarez. The traveler can get there thanks to a negotiated boat with a fisherman in the village of Ramena. In bad season, the ride can be dangerous but the show is unusual. Even the most jaded will be amazed by the almost unreal color of the sea.

Diving enthusiasts underwater but also gourmets will be delighted. On deserted and paradisiacal beaches, your meal, locally caught, gate quietly on a firewood. ensured freshness and flavors. This place wakes the Robinson Crusoe in everyone of us.

Location

Newsletters

Be the first to receive our news and Deals

Hotels Booking Madagascar

FREE
VIEW

Diego Suarez

Histoire

Diego-Suarez, connue localement sous le nom d’Antsiranana est une ville localisée dans la région qui se trouve sur la pointe nord de Madagascar. Elle se distingue par son port qui est le troisième plus important de la Grande île. En partant d’Antananarivo, la capitale locale, il faut faire quelques 1173 km pour y arriver. Au large de ses côtes se trouvent les îles Comores qui garantissent la richesse culturelle de ses habitants.

Informations

  • Pays: Madagascar
  • Ville: Diego-Suarez
  • Heure locale: +1H
  • Monnaie: Mga
  • Langue: Français & Malgache
  • Office du tourisme Diego-Suarez: Adresse: Angle Rue Flacourt Rue Colbert 201 Antsiranana
  • Tel : 032 43 231 61
  • Email: tourismediego@gmail.com
  • Site : www.office-tourisme-diego-suarez.com

A découvrir

À la rencontre d’une population cosmopolite

Lorsqu’on parle de la ville de Diego-Suarez, l’on ne saurait oublier la source de son appellation. Cette dernière provient des noms des deux hommes qui l’ont découverte, voilà quatre siècles, Diego Diaz et l’amiral Suarez. La baie qui lui vaut sa renommée fut le lieu d’amarrage des bateaux des pirates de l’Océan Indien. Aujourd’hui, cette baie est considérée comme l’une des plus appréciées du monde, offrant des plages splendides. Mais la ville se distingue aussi par la pluralité de cultures qui compose sa population. Effectivement, Diego Suarez reste la ville la plus cosmopolite de la Grande île en ne comptant que des habitants issus de ses îles alentours dont les îles Comores.

Des lieux touristiques à découvrir

Dans les circuits de découverte des différentes agences de voyage qui opèrent dans la ville de Diégo se trouvent plusieurs sites touristiques à ne pas rater. Parmi ceux-là, il y a le Windsor Castle qui, du haut de ses 391 m, offre une vue imprenable sur l’ensemble de la baie de Diego. À quelques kilomètres de là se trouve le massif de Tsaratanana. Il s’agit d’un des points culminants de la Grande île avec ses quelques 2874 m d’altitude. Un peu plus bas, mais non moins intéressant, la « Montagne des Français » a un sommet qui se trouve à 426 m par rapport au niveau de la mer. Il offre un circuit d’escalade très intéressant pour les plus aventureux des visiteurs de la ville. D’autres lieux inédits dont la montagne d’Ambre et son parc national sont à découvrir lors d’un séjour dans Dégo-Suarez.

Paysages et richesses naturelles inédits

Diégo, c’est aussi des plages au sable fin propices à la détente en famille ou entre amis. Sur la plage de Ramena, par exemple, le récif corallien permet de pratiquer plusieurs sports nautiques si ce n’est que la natation et la plongée sous-marine. Au large de l’Océan Indien s’offrent au regard les trois baies des Dunes, des Pigeons et de Sakalava. Sur chaque baie et entre-elles se trouvent une richesse de verdure et de faune importante, traduisant aisément la richesse naturelle de l’ensemble de la Grande île. Pachypodiums, plantes xérophiles, mais aussi cailles et espèces de pigeons endémiques peuvent être rencontrées tout au long de la visite de ces territoires naturels de Diégo.

A visiter

Les trois baies

Antsiranana, Madagascar
Les 3 baies sont accessibles après 1 km de marche depuis Ramena. La première d’entre elles, la baie des Dunes, est déserte et magique. Un peu plus loin, la baie des Sakalava est encore plus impressionnante. Puis enfin, on découvre la baie des pigeons. Ces belles étendues de sable bordées d’une végétation très variée étaient encore interdites il y a peu (anciennement une zone militaire). Elles restent méconnues et peu fréquentées.

Une incroyable mer d’huile couleur émeraude s’offre également aux visiteurs pour des baignades sans danger. L’endroit est idéal pour pêcher la langouste. Souhaitons simplement que ce cadre naturel d’une beauté saisissante ne soit pas un jour exploité par les grands noms du tourisme de masse. Le gouvernement a, à ce jour, refusé tout projet de construction le long de ces baies.

Massif de l’Ankarana

Le massif de l’Ankarana se mérite. Le parcours est parfois difficile mais les efforts consentis sont très vite récompensés. Quelques jours passés sur place permettent aux randonneurs d’apprécier une nature inviolée et de profiter de la singularité et de l’endémisme de Madagascar. Les formations en pointes, appelés les Tsingy (forêt de pierres), font plusieurs dizaine de mètres de haut. Ce massif calcaire, il y a bien longtemps sous les mers, s’est érodé avec le temps et a été sculpté par la pluie. Les pics acérés obligent à la plus grande prudence quand on évolue sur le site.

La faune n’est pas en reste. Les lémuriens et les caméléons ont colonisé le site. Les chauve-souris géantes ont élu domicile dans les nombreuses grottes sacrées de la région. En un mot, l’Ankarana est une belle aventure ! A noter qu’il existe de grands Tsingy dans le sud de Madagascar (Tsingy de Bemaraha qui fait partie du patrimoine mondial de l’humanité).

Ramena

Antsiranana, Madagascar
Ramena est un agréable petit village de pêcheurs, à deux pas d’Antsiranana (Diégo-Suarez) accessible par une route qui longe la baie où trône fièrement le pain de sucre. Il est l’occasion de faire une halte pour admirer ce panorama extraordinaire. Ramena possède une jolie plage. Le village est charmant, propice au repos.

Plusieurs choix s’offre aux voyageurs : profiter de la sérénité du village en laissant le temps s’écouler, prendre la mer et découvrir un décor époustouflant ou longer la côte vers les 3 baies. Quitter cette région est difficile, elle dipose de tous les atouts pour couler des jours heureux.

La mer émeraude

Antsiranana Madagascar

La mer émeraude se trouve à quelques encablures de Diégo-Suarez. Le voyageur pourra s’y rendre grace à une embarcation négociée auprès d’un pêcheur au village de Ramena. En mauvaise saison, la balade peut être dangereuse mais le spectacle est hors du commun. Même les plus blasés seront bluffés par la couleur presque irréelle de la mer.

Les amateurs de plongée sous-marine mais également les gourmands seront comblés. Sur des plages désertes et paradisiaques, votre repas, pêché sur place, grille tranquillement sur un feu de bois. Fraîcheur et saveurs assurées. Cet endroit réveille le Robinson Crusoe qui sommeille en chacun de nous.

Ajoutez votre établissement

300+ Hôtels, Gîtes, Maisons d’hôtes !

Chargement des cartes
Voir
Normale Minuit Famille Fest Open dark Bord de l’eau Ozan
Ma position Plein-écran